Wk 3 – Artist Conversation – Mimmi Haddon

Today we went to the art galleries to view some works by a couple of different artists.  One of the artists there was Mimmi Haddon,who has a master in fiber arts, and creates her art using t-shirts.

One of the pieces of art that she created was extremely interesting to me, because it was something that I would never imagine could be made using t-shirts.  I didn’t get a chance to find out what the piece was officially supposed to be, but it looked like a solid pole leaned over at an angle with a circle at its base.  This caught my attention because when I think of t-shirts, I do not imagine them making a solid structure.  I would like to find out more about that piece and figure out how she was able to make the t-shirts stay together and stay in a solid shape as they were.

The art that she was showing today was made my cutting up shirts and then sowing them together in ways that she saw fit to create organic forms.  She started with 100 t-shirts on this one and actually decided to buy more and ended up using somewhere around 300.  Her work caught my eye at the gallery because she uses many different colored shirts to create her art so it really makes it stand out.  Also, she creates very large works that really catch you attention when you enter the room.

What this gallery of works meant to me was that things that one person considers old and trash, can actually end up being beautiful and a work of art for another.  Mimmi’s art showed me that everything that is old is not always necessarily useless, but can be used to create something beautiful.  It’s like that old saying, “One man’s trash is another man’s treasure.”

IMG_6170.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

