Wk 4 – Artist Conversation – Josh Vasquez

Josh Vasquez is an art student at CSULB.  He says that because of this, a lot of his art tends to be more “assignment” based.  Something he really wanted to do this these works that he was creating was to finish them without getting any feedback beforehand.  Josh wanted to do this so that he can really see how far he has come with his own voice.  All he wanted to make his art and exhibit it, and not have any critiquing in the middle of that process.

This pieces that he created were inspired by Los Angeles sunsets, which he used to pick his colors for the paintings, and Los Angeles county as a whole.  The base layer of his paintings contain stand-alone phrases of poetry that Josh said he wrote about Los Angeles by imagining that it was a lady.  Then, he would use basically the same colors of paint that he used to write the phrases to cover them up; similar to the process used to cover graffiti in cities.  He actually even wrote the phrases in different styles of graffiti in his paintings.  I thought this was very interesting and found it very cool when I really looked at the paintings and noticed that I could actually see some of the graffiti written phrases through the colors on top of them.

I found this art that Josh made very intriguing and eye-catching when I walked into his gallery.  I really enjoyed the colors he used in his paintings, and those colors are actually what first caught my eye when I was walking into his show.  Then, after being drawn in by the colors of the paintings, I began to really look at them and started to see the phrases underneath the paint.  It shocked me at first and then I realized that I actually thought it was really cool.  I was amazed that he was able to make it so that the phrases could actually be at least partially read behind all the painting that he did on top of them.

IMG_6197.JPG

IMG_6198.JPG

Leave a Reply

